Gelli prints with leaves….5 prints

Gathered some leaves while on my daily walk through the park with Stewie…..

Then of course I had to try some gelli printing…I saw this beautiful textured photograph that served as my inspiration. You can check it out here:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/prairiejill/6209411989/

It looked like it could have been done by gelli-printing so I decided to try it.

Needless to say, nothing really worked to look like the effect in the photo, but I got 5 interesting prints, all multilayered using the leaves as resists and then ghosts. I will crop them down to the “good parts” and print them onto fabric eventually.

So, these are the 5 prints:

white001 blue001 ornage001 pink001 red001You will notice that I used the same leaves over and over again- I think the acrylic paint coating will help to preserve them, for even more printing.

Poor Stewie- I told him I would only be about 10 minutes….and 2 hours later…..Australian Shepherds are smart, so they know when they are being toyed with…..I think we need to form Gelli-Printers Anonymous to deal with our addictions!

 

2 extra prints added later: see here on Flickr: http://www.flickr.com/photos/coolquilting/9020497396/

18 thoughts on “Gelli prints with leaves….5 prints

    • there are lots of tutorials around the web. You could google you tube videos for gelli printing or monoprinting and get lots to see. Check out gelliarts pinterest…such as this board:

      Like

  1. We can all support each other as we get sucked into the relaxing and exciting time vortex of gelli printing! Your leaf prints are amazing-love how you used it for masks and prints! So glad you shared this with the party!

    Like

  2. I actually did a few leaf prints on a gelatin block I made before I got my Gelli. Thanks for reminding me to give it a go now that I have a Gelli to play with. Your prints are very lovely and I can so see them on fabric! 🙂

    Like

  3. I’m glad my image inspired you. These prints are wonderful! They really look like textured photographs. And I love all the different colours. (Love the Gelli Printers Anonymous idea, too! Sign me up!)

    Like

Please leave a comment. I would love to know what you think!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.