Snap: Tulips at Assiniboine Park

2016…and time for a new meme from Helena. This year it is “Snap”: between 2 and 4 photos that create a visual set. 

A visit to the Assiniboine Park English Garden yesterday revealed hundreds(thousands?) of tulips…

I managed to cull my 75 photos down to 6 close-up shots, most with some lovely background bokeh:

click on any photo below to start a slide show

I loved the variety of colours and shapes and heights..and even the various shades of the green of the leaves(including a very lovely grey-green leaf with the pale orange/pink tulip). There are apparently 15 categories of tulips but I can’t tell for sure which category any of these belong too…though I assume most of them are early single tulips and one is obviously a double tulip. And perhaps the dark purple one is a lily-flowered tulip. There were even some multi-flowering tulips(more than one blossom per bulb..but none were in full bloom yet if I remember correctly). I wish the park had labeled the tulips….

A good source of info on tulips(including a 16th catch-all category for uncategorized tulips) can be found here.

Linking to Helena’s “Snap” meme here  

Helena'sCreativeMaven

 

6 thoughts on “Snap: Tulips at Assiniboine Park

Please leave a comment. I would love to know what you think!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.