onephotofocus for March 2016

I came across an interesting photo challenge through blogs involved in the One Four Challenge and joined up. You can read about it here. Basically, Stacy at VisualVenturing.com sends everyone who signs up for the challenge the same photo and everyone edits it however they wish. Hence the name of the challenge: OnePhotoFocus!

March’s photo was originally taken by Nancy Merrill:

original

I love Tudor-style buildings so I wanted to work on this photo(I had missed the last few month’s photo deadlines…oops!).

My first steps in editing were in Lightroom…I applied lens correction to straighten the perspective, a crop to remove some distractions and applied an auto correct for exposure, contrast etc. I wanted to remove the distracting wire in the upper left corner so I used the clone tool in Photoshop. This step worked okay in removing the wire but couldn’t replicate the textures in the stucco or the wood, so I knew I would have to correct this at a later step.  I played around with colours and intensities in the Nik Color Efex Pro 4 program and chose the contrast colour preset.

I added a texture from Kim Klassen’s Waterfront Collection(overlay mode at 40% opacity) to hide the side-effects of the Photoshop cloning step. Better…..but still a few marks and blips that were a bit distracting. So time to switch to some apps on my iPad!!

Next step was the Waterlogue app to make a watercolour image. However, all of the Waterlogue presets resulted in too much loss of detail.

I thought a compromise could be reached by layering the Waterlogue effect on top of the edit with Kim’s texture. To do this, I used the Superimpose app with normal blend mode at 50% opacity. This final step eliminated the last distracting bits due to the cloning step and added a watercolour effect that wasn’t too overwhelming.

So my finished edit for this month:

from ipad

As usual, I am very curious as to what the other participants did..but I won’t know till this post is published and linked to Stacy’s post…so we will all be surprised at the same time! Check out the results here. (note added: after seeing this photo posted on Stacy’s blog I thought I should have toned down the saturation: it looked too garish…but I will it as is for this post.)

3 thoughts on “onephotofocus for March 2016

Please leave a comment. I would love to know what you think!

