Postcard for Houston- Marti

Marti is off to Houston(or at least her photo is!!) . My friend Brenda let me use a photo she took of her dog Marti. I modified the original photo in PSE and printed it twice, once on an inkjet cotton sheet and once on organza- these two layers together give an interesting 3-D look. After the layers were stitched together, I added some batting behind Marti’s face and created a trapunto dog. I made Marti’s face pop even more with some free motion quilting and then added on a postcard backing. Some zigzagging around the edge tied everything together.

More information on this fundraising project(2012) can be found here:

http://pokeysponderings.com/2013/06/28/quilters-its-time-to-get-busy-quilt-festivals-pet-postcard-project-is-back/

So here is Marti on a postcard:

marti postcard

Doesn’t she have the most interesting eyes???

Last year I sent in a postcard with Stewie on it so I am not sure what I will do next year. Maybe Brenda’s other dog Cairo???

3 thoughts on “Postcard for Houston- Marti

  1. Hi Marsha,
    Thank you for your lovely comment on my post.
    I love trapunto, my mother in law used to do some beautiful work, this is soo sweet, and it was great to read how you did it too.
    x
    Julia

    Like

Please leave a comment. I would love to know what you think!

