Snap: Flashphotofest PhotoWalk

2016…and time for a new meme from Helena. This year it is “Snap”: between 2 and 4 photos that create a visual set.

For the third year in a row, Winnipeg has held a photography festival in October called Flashphotofest(read about it here). This year I was lucky enough to be able to go on a photowalk held as part of this festival. It was a photowalk about street photography…led by a photojournalist/street photographer. Members of the public(like me) could join but a large contingent of the walkers were photojournalism students and the walk was part of one of their course assignments. The photowalk leader talked about being camera-ready for any shot…so I had my camera set on manual with a moderately narrow aperture of f/9.0, a shutter speed of 1/250(maybe a bit too fast!…1/100 might have been better) and auto ISO. I was using my 16-50 mm lens and for the first time I made a real attempt to use back button focus. So all it took was a quick re-focus every so often and a quick zoom in zoom out as needed.

I pared my photos down to 6.. couldn’t make it just 4, because after all, I had to include a reflection and a strideby shot!!

The festival director(on the left) and the photowalk leader on the right:

photowalk-1-of-6

A friendly fellow re-enacting the story about the horse and a person who wipes the snow off the horse everyday during winter:

photowalk-2-of-6

One of the students grabbing a shot of me as I grabbed a shot of her and her reflection:

photowalk-3-of-6

Another of the students talking to a family waiting for a bus, getting their story and then taking their photograph:

photowalk-4-of-6

A skateboarder working his way down the sidewalk near the bus stop:

photowalk-5-of-6

And lastly a strideby:

photowalk-6-of-6

Linking to Helena’s “Snap” meme hereΒ Β 

Helena'sCreativeMaven

 

9 thoughts on “Snap: Flashphotofest PhotoWalk

  1. Any story that includes horses is a good one – nice statue & your reflective shot is brilliant. I just never feel comfortable photographing people I do not know.

    Like

Please leave a comment. I would love to know what you think!

