One Four Challenge February Week 3: Stewie

Another month for the One Four Challenge which you can read about it, and join it here. This challenge is about processing 1 image in 4 different ways over 4 weeks.

For week 3, I started with the edited photo from week 2 and made more adjustments in Lightroom. I decreased the vibrance and saturation to correct the over-saturation in week 2. I then applied a small radial filter over Stewie’s eye to increase the exposure and lastly applied a slight crop to remove the distracting elements on the right side of the photo.

I wanted to make Stewie stand out from the cluttered background so I sent the photo to my iPad and used the app BlurFx. I applied a gaussian blur at a medium strength and then flicked through the filters. A “purple” filter eliminated the purple undertones in Stewie’s fur. Then back to my computer for uploading to the blog after a quick clarity adjustment and white balance correction in Lightroom.

After these adjustments and exporting of the file as a jpeg, I could see some annoying banding in the background so I had to go back and save the file as a png. Not sure what it is that causes the banding, but it doesn’t show up in the png file:

week 3 to blur background with touch of clarity 3

Hmm..now what do I need to adjust…well, there is a bit of a pink haze and the painting on the wall just looks like a few blobs. I must say that I am amazed at how well the photo has been recovered so far…the advantage of shooting in RAW I assume!

Previous week’s edits plus the original can be seen in the slideshow below:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

You can follow the other posts from the blogging world by checking Robyn’s post for February here. Most people are on week 2, some(like me) are on week 3!

8 thoughts on “One Four Challenge February Week 3: Stewie

  1. He is a great subject and love that inquisitive look!
    Loved reading your process and think you got some good results!
    I like your tip on the png instead of jpeg. An image I’m working on presently has banding due to noise. Must play with your idea.
    I like that you lifted the sparkle in his eye 😜
    I wonder, could you lift him out of this background? Food for thought and looking forward to the next ones!

    Like

Please leave a comment. I would love to know what you think!

