One Four Challenge for May- Cottage Life

The One Four Challenge(you can read about it, and join it here). This challenge is about processing 1 image in 4 different ways over 4 weeks.

For this month I decided to edit a photo that was actually from a 35 mm slide taken in the mid 1960s by my father. My family visited friends who had a cottage up at Madge Lake in Saskatchewan. There were 4 kids in my family and 6 or 7 in the other family(one of the boys towards the right may have just been a friend)!! We had such a good time together.

This is the original photo of the 2 families(a scan of the 35 mm slide):

at the cottage

I am the one right in the middle of the photo…sitting on the deck. My brother is standing behind me and my 2 sisters and mom are just to the left of the door.

I thought it would be fun to play with this photo….

The first step was to get rid of as much clutter(ie litter) and distractions and to do a basic tune-up including a slight crop at the bottom and a tone-down of the redness. These editing steps were done on my iPad using Touch/Retouch and on my computer using Photoshop. This is Week 1 photo:

Photo 2015-05-03, 7 38 26 PM more boxes removed and adjusted in PS for blog smaller

I didn’t do a great job getting rid of the boxes on the left side under the deck…but I can work on that for next week along with trying to improve skin-tones.

Linking to One Four Challenge week 1 May here.

11 thoughts on “One Four Challenge for May- Cottage Life

  1. Great start with the image. I too liked the original redder tone but I must say you’ve done a great job with the color tuning. Looking forward to seeing how you take it from here!

    Like

  2. Me too – a wonderful idea choosing a slide of your family’s holiday. Sounds like great memories!
    Definitely has a film feel and look. So glad youve chosen this as your May image Marsha. A fabulous start!

    Like

  3. I really like your idea of taking an older image and working with it over the month. I am looking forward to seeing this transform over the next edits. Cleaning up the “liter” was really effective. I must admit, I really like the darker red to the cabin that was in the original but I like the overall feel of the second, cleaned up image.

    Liked by 1 person

Please leave a comment. I would love to know what you think!

