One Four Challenge for January Week 3: Woodland Scene

Month 3 for the One Four Challenge which you can read about it, and join it here. This challenge is about processing 1 image in 4 different ways over 4 weeks.

A landscape photo for this month…bare trees, a picnic table, a bench and a creek-bed…..all under a light dusting of snow and a very grey sky. The photo was taken with my Samsung Galaxy phone using a square format.

For week 3, I played around with Black and White conversion. I haven’t done much experience with Black and White and was surprised how difficult it is to get a balanced version. I eventually settled on this version, created with the JixiPix software app, Dramatic Black and White HD. This app is available for both Android and Ios platforms as well as for Windows desktop and Mac.

IMG_1042 jixipics hd copy

I think there is some oversaturated black in the base of the trees and the bushes….but I do like how there is a lot of detail in the bark and the branches look very delicate. But there is still room for improvement.

You can see the original and weeks 1 and 2 versions in the gallery below:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

For more results for this challenge google “One Four Challenge” or use “One Four Challenge” in the categories search in WordPress reader.

 

14 thoughts on “One Four Challenge for January Week 3: Woodland Scene

  1. Marsha I really love what you have done here, the trunks on the silver birches glow with all the detail and texture in the, this is a lovey job 🙂

    Like

  2. I think I missed this last week because I really like the week two version (the sketch) that I’m seeing here. But I also like this week’s. It’s difficult to make snow look like snow, and you’ve achieved that here with the contrast and exposure. Good work.

    Like

  3. Snowy scenes always deem to look good in b&w as there is a high degree of contrast. Having said that, in my experience it is not so easy to achieve a good snowy pic, although HDR gas worked for me before when nothing else did. But these birch trees are so lovely in your photo. I really like what you’ve done here and will be interested to see how you alter the bushes etc next week. Thanks also for mentioning the apps, as I will investigate them too.

    Like

Please leave a comment. I would love to know what you think!

