One Four Challenge on Mobile Monday

I decided to join another challenge which I hope can be combined nicely with my “Mobile Monday” posts. It is called the One Four Challenge and you can read about it, and join it here. This new challenge is about processing 1 image in 4 different ways over 4 weeks.

Continuing with the Mobile Monday theme, most of my processing will be with my Samsung (android) mobile apps….and hopefully finding new ones to play with. Some processing though will be done with Lightroom and Photoshop since I am trying to learn these programs too!

Since I am joining the One Four Challenge on week 2 for November, I am posting 2 processed versions here.

My starting photo was taken with my point-and-shoot camera…..a lone autumn leaf that was determined to hold on for as long as possible. I think this photo has tons of potential for many different image effects. But I have discovered that the blown-out area in the bottom right (where the sun was trying to peek out from beneath the clouds) might cause some processing issues.

The original photo shown below looks like it was taken in black and white but it wasn’t:

leaf original

The first processed version is an HDR look created with the Snapseed app. The HDR brought back the colour of the leaf but unfortunately it has really blown out the sun behind the clouds:

leaf snapseed hdr for blog

I am going to try to un-blow the sun effect if I can figure out how to do this!!

The second processed version(starting from the original photograph, not the HDR version) was created with a Lightroom Preset called “Under the Sun” and then assorted textures were added in Photoshop. The LR preset was from Stuck in Customs and the textures were from Kim Klassen and 2 Lil Owls.

ps layers texture

This should be fun…I don’t know if i can stop at 4 versions though!!

Linking to One Four Challenge week 2 November here.

And be sure to check out what PrairieJill has posted for her Mobile Monday here.

 

16 thoughts on “One Four Challenge on Mobile Monday

  1. I really like the texture in the second image. That is something I don’t know how to create yet. I don’t think Lightroom has this capability does it? I don’t have photoshop. Looking forward to seeing where you go with this, it is a beautiful image to work with.

    Like

    • Oops – pressed that twitchy button too soon 🙂
      Glad to have you joining in Marsha.
      Love your subject here – that little leaf is a real story and I really like your different edits.
      The HDR definitely brought some detail and yes more light into the image. The textural edit is great too. Gives a completely different feel.
      So glad youre enjoying this 😊 Fun!!

      Like

Please leave a comment. I would love to know what you think!

