Photo Lab 44:Mixed Media Dots

I am playing with Prairie Jill and Miriam. We are working our way through Steve Sonheim’s photography book(Creative-Photography-Lab-Self-Expression-Mixed-Media), lab by lab.

A mixed media project this week in conjunction with Carla Sonheim..printing out a photo on t-shirt transfer paper and then making watercolour dots around the photo.

I chose this photo of one of my antique duck decoys:

decoy

Unfortunately my printer seemed to get colours confused probably because it was running out of ink…so it printed some of the orange as pink. But I took this as a sign and used pink and orange watercolour paint, as well as dark blue watercolour paint to make some dots. The result is a very strange-looking piece of mixed media:

dots1

Too many dots!! Too many colours of dots!! The watercolour seems to react differently where the photo printed too. I didn’t want to get too close to the duck in case the watercolour spread onto the duck so the dots are pretty sparse in the center.

I placed some coloured mats on top to hide most of the dots and it looks a bit better:

dots2

Still pretty silly looking(my dots don’t look anything like the pretty dots that Carla achieves for this lab in the book)…..

Not my favorite lab….but for next week’s lab we get to smash things up…so that should be fun.

3 thoughts on “Photo Lab 44:Mixed Media Dots

  1. I decided not to do this lab, so it’s interesting to see how it turned out. I like the matted version, and I actually kind of like the pinks that your printer decided to add in. Looking forward to smashing things next week!

    Like

Please leave a comment. I would love to know what you think!

