Photo Lab 40 Head Like a Hole

I am playing with Prairie Jill and Miriam. We are working our way through Steve Sonheim’s photography book(Creative-Photography-Lab-Self-Expression-Mixed-Media), lab by lab.

This week’s lab was to hold up a piece of stiff paper(I used card stock) with a hole in it…and photograph through the hole. Not quite sure what the point was…but I had some fun with it anyways. Note that despite the apparent colour differences, I used the same piece of white cardstock for each photo. Some photos have a lot of the cardstock showing, others have very little. I used my DSLR for all of these…

A cow painting:

cow painting collage

Looking out the kitchen windows at some trees:

outside plants collage

Jane LaFazio’s Spunky Green Bird art quilt that hangs on my kitchen wall:

janes bird collage

And of course, Stewie:

stewie collage

I think part of the objective of this lab was to get the “focal point” of the photo(in the hole) the correct colour, correct exposure and in focus…despite holding the cardstock in front of it. This I managed to do most of the time…but since my white cardstock varied greatly in colour it would suggest that I didn’t really meet all the goals of this workshop(is this a white balance issue or exposure compensation issue??). Or maybe that is not important- what is inside the hole counts!

5 thoughts on “Photo Lab 40 Head Like a Hole

  1. You got some nice results here! I really like the dark frame, looking out your kitchen window. I also like the way the circular frame sometimes blurs out the edges of the subject. Like you, I wasn’t too sure of the point of this. Maybe part of it was just shooting different shapes other than the usual rectangle or square? As you said, though, it was fun anyway!

    Like

Please leave a comment. I would love to know what you think!

