Crow in Flight

I managed to snap a photo of a crow in flight(usually I just get a blur!). The original photo was not too inspiring, but then I made an HDR version and also a version with a Kim Klassen texture(autumn burst). I have lots of Kim’s textures but have not had much of a chance to use them yet….but this crow photo was just calling for a texture!

The original: crow originala

The HDR(a slightly overprocessed) version- I like how the wing feathers look reddish:

DSC_0211_tonemapped crow in flight copyc

The autumn burst texture version:

crow with kk textureb

What do you think…should I tone down the texture overlay a bit??

Linking to Kim Klassen’s Texture Tuesday and to NF Winged.

11 thoughts on “Crow in Flight

  1. No keep the texture, it turns an ok picture into a piece of art. I thinks there is a difference between enhancing a picture you have and making a piece of art. I like the shape of crows in the air.

    Like

  2. I like what the HDR version did for the wings. I might combine that with the texture (softened a tad and removed from the bird) to see what you can get. Also, maybe if you tone down the HDR a tad you could get rid of the halo effect? Looks like fun playing!

    Like

  3. Great shot and editing! I think my favourite is the final one. I love the way the crow is centered in the circle in the texture. I like it as is, but it would probably be pretty with a softer texture, too.

    Like

Please leave a comment. I would love to know what you think!

