Photo Lab #25 Tension

I am playing with Prairie Jill and Miriam. We are working our way through Steve Sonheim’s photography book(Creative-Photography-Lab-Self-Expression-Mixed-Media), lab by lab.

This week’s lab was all about looking for tension in motion…the feeling that something just happened or is about to happen. Steve wrote: “If you see it through the viewfinder, you have missed it”.

So at The Forks last week I tried catching some “tension” shots and came up with these 3:

wrestlersThese guys were just goofing around…I had seen them earlier in another part of the Forks. The guy on the right was picking up one of the fighter’s sunglasses and saw me taking the photo…and he just laughed!!

elevatorI snapped a few photos of the elevator as it was landing at the floor just above where I was in the stairwell. The fellow in the elevator was kind-of confused as to why I was shooting this picture! The clear elevator was lots of fun for taking photos.

skateboardersI just missed out on getting a shot of the guy in green in mid-air after shooting down the ramp in the middle of the photo. But this shot does show him concentrating on a good landing…

This was really the first time I spent much time shooting photos of people..and I enjoyed it a lot!

 

One thought on “Photo Lab #25 Tension

  1. These turned out really well! I think the skateboarder one is my favourite – so much going on in there. Taking photos of people was fun, wasn’t it? And we made a couple of them laugh, too!

    Like

Please leave a comment. I would love to know what you think!

