Photo Lab #19 Cereal Box Transfer

I am playing with Prairie Jill(http://prairiejill.blogspot.ca/)and Miriam(http://miriamrogers.co.uk/). We are working our way through Steve Sonheim’s photography book(Creative-Photography-Lab-Self-Expression-Mixed-Media), lab by lab.

Well, this was very interesting!!!!! I was attempting to print out a photo of shadows with high contrast to get a good image for t-shirt transfer paper. However the image turned out blue when I printed it onto the transfer paper…maybe because of the cheap transfer paper I used?? Maybe over-saturated?? Maybe due to pigment inks?

And when I transferred it to gesso-treated cardboard( a cracker box), the blue image became green!!!!

Here is the photo of some shadows of trees:

shadow-3

And here is the image transferred onto the cracker box:

green transferLike I said earlier, interesting!!! It almost looks a negative….But it does look pretty cool I think! Now to figure out what to do with it! I think more experimentation is in order…….

 

6 thoughts on “Photo Lab #19 Cereal Box Transfer

  1. I love your photograph and what an amazing (if unexpected) result! It looks like a batik to me.

    I wonder if you just had one weird sheet of transfer paper in the pack? Mine wasn’t particularly high-quality stuff, I don’t think. I set my printer to greyscale before printing – don’t know if that helped. I was actually thinking about trying to transfer some colour photos, too. I’m not really sure why the Lab was set up to transfer b&w. Maybe to give us more options for playing with paint? Anyway, it was fun! I think I’ll cut mine down to make postcards.

    Like

Please leave a comment. I would love to know what you think!

