Photo Lab #11 Light and Dark

I am playing with Prairie Jill(http://prairiejill.blogspot.ca/)and Miriam(http://miriamrogers.co.uk/). We are working our way through Steve Sonheim’s photography book(Creative-Photography-Lab-Self-Expression-Mixed-Media), lab by lab.

so…..I had been telling Jill that I did my light and dark lab a week early. I had used popcorn in a white bowl for the light, and chocolate chips in a teflon(dark) pan for the dark.  I thought I was set….but either I forgot to do the underexposed versions, or I inadvertently deleted them….

so….I could go out and buy more popcorn and chocolate chips(twist my arm)…but I settled for more mundane articles to photograph.

For the dark I used settings of -1.7, 0 and +1.7(from top to bottom), using a spool of black thread against black fleece:

dark collage for blog

I found these results to be quite striking….as Steve explained, to get black to look black  in a predominantly black setting, you really do need to underexpose the photo.

For light I used settings of -1.0,0 and +1.0(from top to bottom), using my box of mini-moo cards against white copy paper:

light collage for blogNot quite as dramatic as the black, but the overexposed photo does show a better white than the “normal” exposure. I think the less striking effect might be because I only went to +1.0 or maybe because of a color cast from my lighting source. But color cast is a future lesson…..

Very useful lesson I think.

3 thoughts on “Photo Lab #11 Light and Dark

Please leave a comment. I would love to know what you think!

