Postcard completed for swap

I joined in the Great Big Stitched Postcard Swap and posted about it briefly awhile ago:postcardswap200b

You can get details here: http://dowhatyouloveforlife.com/swap or visit them on Facebook at “Do What You Love”.

What is surprising is that I have already completed my postcard. Way ahead of schedule.

The theme of this swap was “Create”.  I decided to work from this photo of an Osteospermum or African Daisy I took last summer:

original flower photo for blog  Osteospermum

I had bought this plant specifically with photography/quilting in mind…..I thought the little orange bumps in the dark blue center would be so fun to work with. The first thing I did was to play with the image in Photoshop with filters and saturation. I then did a tight crop highlighting the center of the flower, but leaving enough of a background so the petal structure would be evident. [Note to self- try the cropping next time so that the flower center is off-center !!!] I printed a test run on paper, knowing that the final print on fabric would be much less saturated:

cropped photoI knew I wanted to do a lot of stitching and plain fabric, even stabilized, would get too warped so I thought that I would try it on Lutradur instead.

I printed the photo on the Lutradur and as expected it was quite faded compared to the paper printout, but I thought it had a nice soft look. So I started stitching with just a thin layer of fusible fleece underneath. I used a very bright orange thread to make sure the little bumps stood out!

After the stitching was finished the postcard in progress looked like this:

in progressThe final step was to attach a layer of timtex to add structure and a postcard template on the back. 4 rounds of stitching to keep everything together finished it off:

finished postcardI am quite pleased with it and hope my soon-to-be-named swap partner likes it.

To fit with the theme of the swap(Create), I had thought about adding the letters “create” to the front of the card(maybe the bottom right corner). But I think that the creation of the card itself fits the bill!

What do you think? Should I still add the word “create” to the card? I could misty-fuse on the letters easily enough.

4 thoughts on “Postcard completed for swap

  1. Oh, Marsha, this is gorgeous! A little work of art. I’m sure your swap partner will be thrilled. I don’t know about adding the word. I think it would work, but the piece is so beautiful as is, I’d be tempted to leave it. You could always write something about “create” on the back.

    Like

Please leave a comment. I would love to know what you think!

