52 weeks of Photography- Week 1

I bit the bullet and bought Steve Sonheim’s photography book the other day- it can be found on amazon(http://www.amazon.ca/Creative-Photography-Lab-Self-Expression-Mixed-Media/dp/1592538320/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1392694555&sr=1-1) though I bought it at my local “McSnally” store(McNally and Robinson).

Now I can play with Prairie Jill(http://prairiejill.blogspot.ca/)and Miriam(http://miriamrogers.co.uk/) who are working their way through the book, week by week…..but I have a few weeks of catching up to do.

I started with week 1…….but I had to break most of the rules. Basically it was supposed to be 30 photos in 30 minutes. But I had Stewie with me, so that threw a giant wrench into the plan. Stewie and I went  around the block to the park, and I snapped photos when it was safe(ie, he wouldn’t pull me into the street when I was otherwise occupied with the camera). I didn’t think I would be able to find 30 photos to take, since everything is covered in snow..but I was surprised, and once I started looking I had no trouble. I narrowed my favorite photos down to 22 and made this collage:

Collage

Collage

Some of my favorites from the collage above were:

a tiny ice sculpture on the bridge(I wish I knew the story behind this):

DSC06791

a tree covered with seed pods from a vine:

DSC06819

a flash of red:

DSC06816

interesting branches in the creek:

DSC06817

shadow of me towards the left. The 2 shapes beside me are not other people, just the main tree shadows, quite distorted:

DSC06810And of course, Stewie atop the snow drifts:

DSC06833A very fun lesson. And none of these photos were played with in PSE…just straight from the camera.

I have to thank the weather for co-operating. It was a beautiful sunny day and only a few degrees below freezing…..

2 thoughts on “52 weeks of Photography- Week 1

  1. I’m so glad you’re joining in! And you picked the right day to start – it really was nice out, wasn’t it? So nice not to have your fingers freeze when you take a picture
    You got some great shots here. I love that pop of red, and the interesting branches. Can’t wait to see what you do for the next lab.

    Like

Please leave a comment. I would love to know what you think!

