Loot(and philosophy) from Lotta Helleberg

LOOT: I was so excited to learn that I had won an online giveaway on Facebook from Lotta Helleberg and the package arrived a few days ago!! She is a textile artist that I have been following for quite a while.  I love all the processes she uses…check out her work on her Pinterest board (http://www.pinterest.com/lottahelleberg/my-work/). The package that arrived in the mail contained an envelope clutch, constructed from fabric that she had eco-printed with black tupelo leaves:

clutch from lotta

The colour is actually a bit more intense than the photo shows….but still nice and subtle. I want to try this process with some of the more colourful leaves from my yard and neighbourhood next summer. Lotta briefly explains the technique and provides a link to India Flint here:

http://lottahelleberg.com/process/

PHILOSOPHY: I was very intrigued by a recent blog post (http://www.lottahelleberg.com/blog/2013/11/30/cross-roads) where Lotta wrote that she was thinking of not focusing on art pieces, but instead, making functional craft that “could be touched, used, and cherished, rather than hanging on a wall”. I was so happy to read this, as I had recently realized that I didn’t want to make wall art either, but I really enjoy making objects like wallets, pillows etc that are supposed to be touched and used and hopefully cherished. Very glad to know that I am not alone!! Not to say that I am anywhere near the skill/art level of Lotta, but this makes me feel more comfortable with my choice.

One thought on “Loot(and philosophy) from Lotta Helleberg

  1. Oh, what lovey loot! I went over to Lotta’s blog and really love her work. Interesting philosophy, too. It’s so good to know what you enjoy doing and to feel comfortable pursuing that direction.

    Like

Please leave a comment. I would love to know what you think!

