A Start on Pattern Testing for Terri

As mentioned on an earlier blog post I volunteered to be a pattern tester for Terri Stegmiller. She put out a call on this blog post: http://stegart.blogspot.ca/2013/10/calling-all-quilters.html.  I was assigned the quilt with one cat,  a butterfly, 3 flowers  and some lettering- I was a bit hesitant about doing the lettering but she said I didn’t have to do it, so that eased my mind.

Then came the stash check…what to use????????? And what process to use???????????? We are free to use whatever method we like. I originally thought fused applique, which looks neat and tidy, but I am also thinking that I might do raw edge, to make everything a bit looser.

Meanwhile, I had recently bought the kindle version of  Victoria Findlay Wolfe’s book “15 minutes of Play” ( http://www.15minutesplay.com/p/about.html). Most of this book involves making small pieces of fabric(“MADE FABRIC”) from smaller bits of fabric, so I thought that would be a great way to make the flowers for the quilt.

I pulled all my orange/red/yellow fabrics from my printed cotton stash and made these 3 pieces starting with a small piece of yellow fabric for each center and going from there. Lots of very little pieces here, and the finished size is only about 5 inches wide. Psychedelic or what??

3 squares

Given that there are so many little seams in the flowers, I may have to do fused applique, just to make sure the whole thing doesn’t fall apart. I have put on a layer of Misty-fuse just in case.

Next stage:

3 flowers

I haven’t decided whether or not I will do the cat this way too, but it might be too much. A dark pieced butterfly might be cool.  And I guess I had better decide on the background soon or this whole mess of colours might remain that…a whole mess of colour!!

3 thoughts on “A Start on Pattern Testing for Terri

  1. Oh, I love those flowers! (And yes, they definitely do have a psychedelic feel!) Can’t wait to see what you do next.
    Thanks for the link to the “made fabric” posts – very interesting!

    Like

Please leave a comment. I would love to know what you think!

