Playing with Image Transfer

A while ago I took an image transfer class at Cre8ery, and transferred some National Geographic photos to canvas. The canvas is made up primarily from 2 photos- one of fish with coral and one of a mother and child walking through the forest. I liked the way it looks like the child is reaching out to touch one of the fish. I did a bit of collage to try to add a little bit more interest in sections of the piece. This is the result of the process:

After talking with a person who also took this course, I decided to try to make use of this transfer and create some fabric using www.spoonflower.com , The first fabric I designed was simply a mirror repeat of the whole image. That looked okay but then I thought I should focus in on some interesting patterns  and chose this close-up to play with:

This corner also had some collaged pieces of coral on it and I thought it had potential.

The actual mirror-repeat of this can be seen at spoonflower: http://www.spoonflower.com/fabric/972632?sell_this=true .

I can’t figure out to direct link and show the photo…….and I can’t sell the fabric since it wasn’t my photo but at least I can get some yardage and make some wallets etc out of the fabric. I think they could look pretty neat!

Please leave a comment. I would love to know what you think!

